Tony Toni Toné - Sons of Soul

Tony Toni Toné - Sons of Soul


Regular price $28.00 Sale

Double vinyl LP pressing. Sons of Soul is the 1993 third studio album by Tony! Toni! Toné! The band originally recorded for the album at several studios in California, including Westlake Recording Studios and Paradise Recording Studio. When they became jaded with the various people frequenting those studios, Tony! Toni! Toné! moved their sessions to Caribbean Sound Basin in Trinidad, where they ultimately wrote and recorded most of the album. Sons of Soul was produced entirely by the group, who worked with various session musicians and utilized both vintage and contemporary recording equipment. They intended to pay homage to their musical influences-classic soul artists of the 1960s and 1970s-and incorporated live instrumentation, funk, and hip hop elements such as samples and scratches. Lead singer and bassist Raphael Wiggins handled most of the songwriting, which featured quirky, flirtatious lyrics.

  • 1 If I Had No Loot
  • 2 What Goes Around Comes Around
  • 3 My Ex - Girlfriend
  • 4 Tell Me Mama
  • 5 Leavin'
  • 6 Slow Wine
  • 7 (Lay Your Head on My) Pillow
  • 8 I Couldn't Keep It to Myself
  • 9 Gangsta Groove
  • 10 Tonyies! in the Wrong Key
  • 11 Dance Hall
  • 12 Times Square 2:30A.M. (Segue)
  • 13 Fun
  • 14 Anniversary
  • 15 Castleers