Funky DL - Marauding At Midnight: A Tribute To The

Funky DL - Marauding At Midnight: A Tribute To The

Washington Classics

Regular price $29.00 Sale

Vinyl LP pressing. Funky DL ignites his renaissance project to A Tribe Called Quest's 1993 classic album Midnight Marauders, with his 2017 album... Marauding At Midnight: A Tribute To The Sounds of A Tribe Called Quest. This boom-bap bonanza comes in the form of a completely sample-free remake of the entire Midnight Marauders album, and after spending the summer of 2016 in the studio studying, dissecting and re-creating all the original samples Tribe used, DL laced the colorful and melodic grooves in true hip-hop style adding harmonic vocal chants over the beats. His aim was to strictly follow the original Tribe arrangements, - but without sampling any breaks - to garnish subtle touches of musical magic, providing his own lift and vibe for each track. The November 2016 surprise release of Tribe's We Got It From Here... Thank You For Your Service makes Funky DL's tribute to arguably the greatest group in hip-hop history more poignant and demonstrates DL's exemplary but serendipitous timing for this project.

  • 1 Midnight Marauders Tour Guide
  • 2 Steve Biko (Stir It Up)
  • 3 Award Tour
  • 4 8 Million Stories
  • 5 Sucka Nigga
  • 6 Midnight
  • 7 We Can Get Down
  • 8 Electric Relaxation
  • 9 Clap Your Hands
  • 10 Oh My God
  • 11 Keep It Rollin
  • 12 The Chase PT II
  • 13 Lyrics to Go
  • 14 God Lives Through